Daily Archives: December 28, 2016

Suntory Toki

Color: Pale amber. (Liquid sunshine if I’m being poetic.)

Body: Medium-full.

Nose: Vanilla, pear, walnut, green tea.

Taste: Honey, oak, coconut, florals, and a sharp, smoky finish.

Brewery: Suntory (Blend of Hakushu, Yamazaki, and Chita distilleries.)

Let me begin by saying I am not a whisky girl. In general, it mostly tastes like leather to me. Then I saw Suntory Toki at the liquor store and was surprised by its pale color and, later, its aromatic taste. Following a mix of heady fruits and flowers, the concluding whisky burn is welcome on my tongue. Toki is considerably mild and good for beginners, probably because it’s a blend of various malt and grain whiskies from three of Suntory’s distilleries. With three competing whisky types mixed together and none of them overpowering the others, it’s considerably more subtle than any whisky I’ve tried before. At $40 for 750 ml (25 oz.), this is not top shelf liquor. I like it best with an enormous round ice cube and some savory snacks from the Asian grocery to pair with the drink’s sweetness.


This has been a guest post by:

lauren_orsini_headshot_square

Lauren has been getting carded for nine years and counting and is trying to take it as a compliment. She writes about geek careers at Otaku Journalist and builds model robots at Gunpla 101.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fo' Sho(chu)